Ian Molyneux

pa150156So this is an exhaust/ventilation thing at Charlie Gardiners in Subiaco. It was designed I think mid 80s by Ian Molyneux who wrote THE definitive book on perth architecture,  pretty much half the info on this site comes from, ‘Looking around Perth’.  This is the first piece of built architecture I have seen from him, and its fascinating for me. I think its really good to see physical realisations of architects who tend to write the most, or are more known for it. Robert Venturi is the best known example I think. So to be honest, its not much of a building, almost without style. But I still like it for its industrial, raw concrete blockwork and it’s totally uncomprimising. I won’t go and apply theory to it when I doubt there is any, its just interesting and I intend to find more!

Leave a Reply

