R&I bank

p3060336p3060338p3060339p3060340This is the former R&I bank in Leederville. I think it is now the Bankwest headquarters, but it is very secretive. The security guard questioned me, and said it was a highly restricted building and they are not authorised to disclose what the building is, or contains! Anyway, it is designed by Forbes and Fitz in the late 80s. Done at the time when F&F were big into Richard Meier, so you have the stark white ships railing balustrades, white(or creamy) exterior cladding, bold geometry and gentle curves and classical composition/elements.

One response to “R&I bank

  1. It was, and most likely still is, the R&I/Bankwest computing centre. I was in there a few times in the early 90s. Contains the centralised IT hardware and staff workspace. From memory there was a lot of unused open space at the time.

Leave a Reply

