524 Hay St.

P9060308P9060309P9060312P9060307This is an addition to an office block originally designed by Howlett and Bailey. The addition was designed by Louise St John Kennedy with Frank Cardinale, Paul Odden and Colin Anderson. The strong folded marble entry canopy is the main feature, and the detailing on the footpath/entry is beautiful. White marble with concrete infill. Elegant urbanism.

11 responses to “524 Hay St.

  1. Wow, you’re really scraping the bottom of the barrel with this one.

  2. Must admit to liking the original’s mosaic tiles and deep shading best. Please may I enquire as to the timing of each part?

  3. Chris, the addition was 1997. The Original H+B building was 1970 ish.
    Darcy, I don’t think I am, what do you suggest instead?

  4. Take a look at Darcy’s blog, and you will see nothing but a contrived and institutionalised concept of design and style (nothing personal). I appreciate the buildings displayed in this blog here – and yes, on this one, the marble/concrete inlay is completely unique in Perth, and an amazing detail.

  5. Thanks, Tom.

    Agree strongly with N’s appreciation of the buildings on this site.

  6. tomthrett: Don’t get me wrong, I think a lot of your posts show very interesting and unique buildings. But buildings like this (and perhaps the ANZ post before it) are not what I would say are Perth’s best architecture. More a poor interpretation of a style born some 10-20 years before in the rest of the world.

    I’ve walked past this building many a time. At street level it’s not interesting, from afar you get a better sense of the building as a whole with the repetitive apertures in the façade.
    But Perth’s best architecture? No.

    Compared to the dull repetition of Perth’s enveloping suburbs I’m sure this building is brilliant.

    As for what I would suggest? It’s your blog, your own personal opinion of what is and isn’t ‘good architecture’. So do what you will! What would I look into? Perhaps more of Perth’s older buildings. Pre – 1950s.

    N: Like I said to Tom(thrett) – my blog, my taste.
    As for my designs, well I guess I’m just a student. What would I know?

    Contrived? Probably.

    Institutionalised? I want good marks. I design what the tutors/lecturers respond to. Design language may be very institutionalised, but if you were asked to quantify a class of 50’s designs and rank them objectively without any discernible similarity, could you?

    • No disrespect Darcy, but as a student I don’t think you would yet fully have a handle on some of the subtleties in the detailing which make this building worth a mention. Formally it is no doubt very simple and you might say unremarkable, but I think there is enough going for it in other ways to consider it a good building. In terms of its stylistic heritage, it reaches back alot further than 10-20 years! The buidlings you appreciate no doubt have the influences. I do agree that it would be great to see some more older buildings in posts though!

  7. your doing a good job. keep up the posts
    Darcy ….

  8. The Foyer of this building is quite nice although they have messed with the entrance a few times (not just the ugly marble entrance addition – very layered/techtonic rectilinear building broken up at the entrance by a techtonic rectilinear awning? – to misquote Robin Williams “If you are going to make a statement … clash!”).

    I even have images from inside a tenancy, the lift, and inside the air conditioning plennums (the white ‘brick’ awnings on each level).

  9. I’ve always had the impression that things become institutionalised when society believes them to be correct and/or holds them in high regard.

    Institutionalism is nothing to be criticised for.

  10. Scott, please show the pictures! Would love to see.

Leave a Reply

